Please enable Javascript to access the support portal. Here are the instructions how to enable JavaScript in your web browser.

How do I publish my project plan with Project Publisher?

This article covers using Project Publisher to publish a Microsoft Project schedule in EPM Live. After creating and saving a project schedule in Microsoft Project, you are ready to use Project Publisher. Verify your desired settings are set prior to publishing to ensure the plan publishes as expected.

What is Performance Publish?

The Performance Publish features has made publishing large project schedules from Microsoft Project to EPM Live much faster, thus improving the user experience.  When a plan is published, the entire plan is packaged into a single file that goes to the EPM Live Timer Service Queue. Once its turn is up in the queue, the whole file is then published at once. The end user can verify that the Performance Publish feature has been enable after publishing the project schedule from Microsoft Project to EPM Live via the notifications received in EPM Live.

1. Click the Publisher Tab

  • Click the Publisher tab.

2. Click Publish

  • Click Publish on the ribbon.

3. Add a Username and Password

  1. If prompted, add a Username and Password.
  2. Click Sign In.

4. Click OK

  • Update any project information as needed. Click OK in the Project Information box.

  • If you don’t want to show this Project Information window each time you publish, select the Do Not Show checkbox to disable it. You do have the option to re-enable in the Publisher settings, if needed.

  • For more information about this step, refer to the article "How do I update Project Information with Project Publisher."

5. Map the Resource Names

  • Map the plan resources as needed. If no resource mapping changes are needed, click OK.
  • To map the resource names:
  1. Select the resource name on left.
  2. Select the matching resource name on right.
  3. Click the Map button in middle. Repeat until all resource names are mapped. If needed, you may un-map resources previously mapped.
  4. Click OK.

If you don’t want to show this Resource Mapping window each time you publish, select the Do Not Show checkbox to disable it. You do have the option to re-enable in the Publisher settings, if needed.

For more information about this step, refer to the article "How do I map Resources in Project Publisher."

6. Select the Email Response

  • You will see the message that your project has been queued for publishing.  Select the desired response for whether or not to email your project team. If you select Yes, a new email message in your default email application will open. Each of the mapped resources’ email addresses will show in the To box.

7. Save Plan

If prompted, save your project plan. This will save the latest version of your .mpp file (your plan) to the EPM Live site, in the Project Schedules Library, in the MSProject folder.

8. Close Microsoft Project

Once you have published your Microsoft Project schedule:

  1. Click the File tab.
  2. Click the Exit option.

Note: After publishing your project schedule, the newly published tasks will be visible in the Task Center and in My Work.

9. View the Performance Publish Notifications & Status

Open or return to your EPM Live site.

1.  Click your profile picture to open the General Notifications box.

2.  Click on the notification for more details.

 3.  View the Performance Publish Job Created Successfully notification. The first notification states the Performance Publish job has started, and inside that notification, click the link to display the Work Queue page with the publish status.

 4.  Work Queue Page with Performance Publish Status

5.  publish completion, another notification indicates the Performance Publish job has been completed successfully. Click your profile picture to open the General Notifications box.

6.  Click on the notification for more details.

7.  Performance Publish has completed successfully.

You may open the earlier notification again to view the Work Queue. Upon publish completion, the status will update and note any errors, if any.

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.