Please enable Javascript to access the support portal. Here are the instructions how to enable JavaScript in your web browser.

Should I delete tasks in the Task Center?

Although team members have the ability to delete tasks in the Task Center, best practice is not to do so. No automatic notifications are sent to the Project Manager when tasks are deleted from the Task Center. However, if desired, a Project Manager can set an alert to the Task List so that he/she will be notified if any tasks are deleted from the Task Center. This article covers the reviews some best practices in deleting tasks from the Task Center and setting an alert on the Task Center List.  Although team members have the ability to delete tasks in the Task Center, best practice is not to do so. If a task with comments and updates is deleted from the Task Center, the Project Manager does not get notified and thus when he/she republishes the schedule, the task will reappear, without any of the comments or updates, as a new task.

A Project Manager can add an alert to the Task List, so that he/she would be notified if any tasks are deleted from the Task Center. After receiving the notification, he/she could communicate with the team member, and restore it from the Recycle Bin.

An exception to this would be if an organization is not using a scheduling tool (no Project Planner or Microsoft Project) to create schedules. If this is the case the Task Center List would be similar to a To Do List and in this case, a team member could delete a task.  

1. View the Task Center List

  • View the Task Center List and the delete button on the ellipsis menu. Although team members have the ability to delete tasks in the Task Center, best practice is not to do so. If a task with comments and updates is deleted from the Task Center, the project manager does not get notified and thus when the Project Manager republishes the schedule, the task will reappear without any of the comments or updates as a new task.

2. Set an Alert on the Task List

  1. Click the Alert Me button under the List tab.
  2. Select the Set an Alert on this list option.

3. Select the Change Type

  1. For the Change Type, select the "Items are deleted" option.
  2. Click OK.
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.