Certain actions are done on the Queue Service, so that users can continue to work in the system while the jobs are completing on the server. If a specific action shows a Status/Last Result of Queued, it is in the queue, and will process once its turn comes. Once an action has its turn, the status will update to Processing and will show the % of completion. You may need to refresh the page to get the updated % complete. This article covers what items wait for the queue.
1. New Project Team Groups
When a new project is created, the build team security groups get created. It can sometimes take up to a minute. If the Project Manager selects Edit Team before the groups are completed, they will see the message above. If this message appears, click OK, wait a little while, then try Edit Team again.
1.1. View the Build Team Groups
Once the queue has finished, the build team groups will be visible under the Permissions column.
Permissions are as follows:
- <Project name> Owner: All Rights - Any name entered into the Project Planner field must have Owner permissions in order to access the Online Planner.
- <Project name> Member: Contributing Rights
- <Project name> Visitor: Read-Only Rights
2. Published Plan "Tasks"
After a project schedule has been saved, the schedule needs to be published. Upon publishing, the plan's tasks get pushed to the queue. View the Publish Status above. When a Project Manager publishes his/her schedule, the assigned resource(s) will receive and email and a General Notification of the tasks assigned. Additionally, the tasks will be populated in the Task Center and in My Work.
2.1. View In Progress Publish Status
View the in progress publish status. A user may exit the Project Planner once the processing has begun.
3. Total Roll Up Fields
When an item is saved, the total roll up field is affected by the saved item. An example is when someone adds and issue in the Issues list (live /instant data) which is associated to a project, the field "Active Issues" (a roll up field) in the Project Center will be updated after its turn in the queue. This can sometimes take up to a minute. View the Active Issues column in the Project Center above.
4. Resource Import/Export Tool
The Resource Import/Export Tool allows the Site Collection Administrators to bulk upload many resources at once in a more streamlined manner rather than adding each resource one at a time. This tool also allows for updating multiple existing resources at once, rather than editing them one at a time. Once the Site Collection Administrator uses this tool, any data that is saved will be updated after its turn in the queue.
5. Add App from EPM Live App Marketplace
Apps can be added by Site Collection Administrators (SCA) in the Top Level Site as well as by Power Users who have Owner permissions on a workspace.To add an app, it must run through an installation pre-check. This pre-check will take a minute or so to go through the queue.
6. Timesheet Save
Once a user saves his/her timesheet, the data gets pushed to the queue. View the processing status above. Once the timesheet is saved, after its turn in the queue, the timesheet can then be submitted.
7. Performance Publish
Performance Publisher is a feature of Project Publisher used to publish project schedules from Microsoft Project to EPM Live faster and more efficient than before. When using Performance Publish, the XML for the whole schedule goes to the server and goes to the EPM Live Job Queue. View the Performance Publish Job notifications.
8. Queue Table of Jobs & Priority
If a specific action shows a Status/Last Result of Queued, it is in the queue, and will process once its turn comes. Once an action has its turn, the status will update to Processing and will show the % of completion. You may need to refresh the page to get the updated % complete.