Please enable Javascript to access the support portal. Here are the instructions how to enable JavaScript in your web browser.

How do I configure the site General Settings?

In this article, you will learn how to configure the General Settings of your EPM Live Site App.

1. Navigate to General Settings

  1. Select the Settings Gear icon on the Icon Bar.
  2. Under the System Settings heading, select General Settings.

2. Sub Site Inheritance Section

Select the Lock check box to enforce sub site inheritance.  This is applicable for EPM Live Site App Collections that have a multi-site hierarchy, such as with workspaces and/or department workspaces.  If your Site Collection only has a single/top level Site App, leave the box as checked.  If you Site Collection has multiple Site App instances, this setting is applicable to your overall configuration.  

Checked - When checked, the Lock check box ensures that all sub sites use the same settings as defined at the top level site.  Once the settings are locked, the ability to configure the General Settings is no longer available from the sub site level.  When locked, all new Site App instances will use the specified settings and configuration from this General Settings page.  Once the settings are locked at a certain level, all components at lower levels will inherit the settings from the parent.  Note: This option is recommended.

Not Checked - When not checked, each sub site will need to be configured separately and can have custom General Settings.  Once all sub sites have been created, lock the configuration if necessary.  All existing sub sites, as well as new sub sites, will use the settings and configuration at the URL specified in the General Settings page.

3. Configuration URLs Section

1. Resource Pool URL: The Resource Pool URL’s default setting is {Site}, which is the current site location.  If another location is desired, enter the URL where the Resource Pool location should be set.  The site identified will be the location of the Resource Pool.  The Resource Pool is the Resources List, though the Resource Pool List can be modified to an alternative List if needed.  The Resource Pool List Setting is in the Workspace Settings Page.  Note: If you type in any URL in place of the default {site}, be sure to remove default.aspx from a copied and pasted URL.

2. Use Modified / Enable People Editor:  This option changes the data source for the people pickers in this Site Collection to use the Resource Pool or Build Team.

3. Resource Tools Report URL: The Resource Tools Report URL’s default setting is Blank, which will direct the User to the default location for the Resource Tool SSRS Report, located on the Root of the Report Library.  The Report Library is also called the Classic Reports Library.  No change needs to be made here.  However, if the report is moved to a different location, then the new location’s URL will need to be entered here.  The updated site identified will accurately open the Resource Tools Report.  The Resource Tools Report is called "Resource Work vs. Capacity."

4. New Project Options Section

Important Note: EPM Live is designed to be fully functional as a Single Site, meaning all data, resources, etc. are managed in a single level Site App.  In that scenario, the site structure is flat; there is no hierarchy of sites.  Each List App and all data for that List App reside at the top level.  However, if your organization uses additional sites, such as workspaces for additional team collaboration or documentation, EPM Live does support  workspace sub sites to be created for List App items, such as Projects or other Project-Type entities.  From a technical configuration perspective, a workspaces can be created from any type of List App or as an isolated collaboration workspace.  

The remaining Settings for this General Settings page under the New Project Options section pertain ONLY to the use of workspaces and the settings for those workspaces.  

The General Settings for New Project Options apply only to newly created workspaces going forward.  If the General Settings are changed, the changes will not retro-actively affect existing workspaces.

4.1. Template Gallery URL

Template Gallery URL: Specify the Site URL where the Template Gallery is located.  The default setting is {Root}, which is the top level site location.  If another location is desired, enter the URL where the Template Gallery URL should be set.

The Template Gallery with available templates is available via the Settings Gear Navigation Menu.

4.2. Use Live Templates

Use Live Templates: Check the box to select this option, only if you would like to use the live templates for creating workspaces. If this option is unchecked, the templates must be saved to the Template Gallery first.  Then, when a new workspace is created, it will use the latest saved version of the selected template.  For faster site performance, it is recommended to use the Non-Live Templates, meaning leave the box unchecked.

4.3. Create From Options

  1. Default Option:  Select the Default Option from the drop down menu to choose which gallery will be your default Template Gallery.  Your options include Local, Online, and Existing Workspace.  
  2. Available Options: You may also disable galleries using the Available Options check boxes.  By deselecting the check box, it will remove that option for selection by your users when creating a new workspace.
  • Online: These are the Template Site Apps available from EPM Live's online Template Gallery.
  • Local: These are the Template Site Apps available from the Template Gallery local to your Site App Collection.  Once you save a Template Site, the Local Template Gallery is where it saves.
  • Existing Workspaces: You can use any existing workspace site as a template for your new workspace.

4.4. Workspace Type

Workspace Type: Please disregard this setting. This setting is only available for legacy customers on older functionality versions of EPM Live.

4.5. Navigation Inheritance

Navigation Inheritance: Please disregard this setting.  This setting is only available for legacy customers on older functionality versions of EPM Live not using the recommended EPM Live Master Page.

4.6. Permissions

This setting is applicable only to new workspace templates, but not to the workspaces themselves.  Select how the permissions settings are managed in the new workspace templates.  Options Include:

  • Not Set: This option allows the user who is creating the workspace to choose select Unique or Same as Parent Site at the time of creation.  
  • Use Same Permissions as Parent Site: One set of user permissions is shared by the whole Site A Collection.  A user cannot change the user permissions on a new site without being an administrator of the parent site.
  • Use Unique Permissions: The permissions are managed uniquely at each sub site.  Note: EPM Live recommends unique permissions.

4.7. Default Role Assignments

This section allows you to assign specific permission levels to custom groups for every new workspace created.  This allows the specified groups to automatically have certain permissions when new workspaces are created.  (Note: This only applies using unique permissions rather than using the same as the parent site.)

Default Role Assignments: Select default groups to be the Owners, Members, or Visitors groups on the new workspace.  Leave as --Create New Group--  to create three unique permission groups for the workspace. So, for every new workspace created, three unique permission groups for the workspace are also created.  Ex:  If the workspace is called "Project ABC Docs," the following new groups would be created: Project ABC Docs Owners, Project ABC Docs Members, Project ABC Docs Visitors.  Then, the creator/owner of the workspace could add users to those three groups for access to that workspace.  If all new new workspaces are to have a shared group as the Owners, Members, or Visitors, select that group from the drop down menu.

4.8. Custom Permissions

This section allows you to assign specific permission levels to custom groups for every new workspace created.  This allows the specified groups to automatically have certain permissions when new workspaces are created.  (Note: This only applies using unique permissions rather than using the same as the parent site.)

  1. Add Additional Permissions: Choose a Group Name from the Groups drop down menu.  If the group does not exist yet, add a new group.
  2. Select the desired Permission Level.
  3. Click Add.  
  4. The Additional Permissions will show above after the Add button has been clicked.
  5. If needed, click the Delete Link to remove any Additional Permissions from new workspaces going forward.

6. Save Settings

When finished, click Save Settings.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.