Please enable Javascript to access the support portal. Here are the instructions how to enable JavaScript in your web browser.

How do I configure the Workspace Settings?

This article covers configuring the Workspace Settings.  Each Site in the Site Collection is also referred to as a “workspace” and/or a "web", therefore the workspace settings may be configured separately for each Site within your Site Collection (each applicable top level site, subsite/workspace, etc.).  The Workspace Settings page does have default configuration settings based on whether the Site is a top level site app or a sub-site (for example, a department level site or a workspace). When viewing the Workspace Settings page, it may also be titled as Web Settings.

Note: The instructions in this article are applicable to Administrators in the Top Level Site as well as to Power Users who have Owner permissions on a workspace.

1. Navigate to Workspace Settings

  1. Select the Settings Gear icon on the Icon Bar.
  2. Under the System Settings heading, select Workspace Settings.

2. Select Master Page Configuration

Master Page Configuration: Select the drop-down to modify  the master page.  Note: On-Premise clients may use custom master pages.  Custom master pages will appear in the Master Page Configuration drop-down once the custom master page has been uploaded into the master page gallery.  If custom master pages are used, certain EPM Live functionality may no longer be available.

3. Disable Publishing & Planners

  1. Disable Publishing: This is a setting applicable to legacy customers on older versions of EPM Live.  This setting was to disable/enable the ability for users to publish their Microsoft project schedules to this specific site using the Project Publisher tool.  For current customers, this setting is not applicable.  
  2. Disable Planners: Check/uncheck the Disable Planners setting to disable/enable the ability for users to utilize the Planners functionality for this specific site.  This would include all planners, including all types: Online Planner, Microsoft Project, or Online Agile Planner.

4. Disable Contextual Slideouts

Note: For current customers, this setting is not available/functional.  Please disregard this setting.  

5. Select Resources List

Resources List: Select which list is to be used for the Resource Pool by expanding the drop-down menu.  In the default EPM Live environment, the Resources List App is selected, and is the recommended selection.

Note: If you have multiple Site App instances in your Site App Collection, this option is only available in the Workspace Settings at the Top Level Site App, since there can only be one Resource Pool per Site App Collection.

6. Allow Synchronization Setting

Note: For current customers, this setting is not available/functional.  Please disregard this setting.

7. Archive Setting

Archive This Site: If your site is a Single Site architecture, leave this box UNCHECKED.  When this option is checked, data from this site will not show up in the My Work grids, views, dashboards, charts, etc. and this site will be archived.  This is only applicable in the sub-sites/workspaces, if at all.  

8. Enable Master Page Components

  1. Disable Workspaces Menu: The Workspaces Icon will appear in the Icon Bar if you have this feature enabled (unchecked).  When additional workspaces are in use, the Workspaces Icon allows users to quickly navigate to other site (workspaces) to which they have access.  However, If your site is a Single Site architecture with no workspaces, disabling this feature will hide the icon from the Icon Bar, since there is only one site, and therefore nowhere else to navigate.  If your Site Collection has multiple sites, your users will be able to navigate to any additional sites, by selecting the Workspaces icon and then the desired workspace name.  
  2. Disable Create New: The Create New tab is a shortcut link to create new items in the system.  

8.1. Master Page Components Enabled

When the Master Page components are enabled, the corresponding icons for those features are shown.  When disabled, the icons are hidden.

8.2. Create New Example

Note:  Additional configuration required.  The List Apps and Document Libraries have a setting to enable/disable the New button.  The New button is to be Enabled on the List App/Library in order for the users to be able to quickly launch the New Form for that type of item from the Create New button.

9. Default Text

  1. Enter the desired default text prompt for users in the Comments Web Part.  If you leave it blank, the default text will be "What are you working on?"

9.1. General Comments Example

10. Versions and General Information

  1. Template Version: This section displays the site's template version when it was originally created.  Please note that even when the code is upgraded to a newer version, the Site's template version will not change.  So, your template version and your Code Version may differ in time, as your Site's code gets upgraded.
  2. Site ID & Web ID: Your unique Site ID and Web ID are displayed here.
  3. EPM Live Version: This is the code version of your system.
  4. SharePoint Version
  5. EPM Live Database: database name and server
  6. PortfolioEngine Database ("PFE"): database name and server
  7. Reporting Database: database name and server

12. Save Settings

When finished, click the Save Settings button.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.