Please enable Javascript to access the support portal. Here are the instructions how to enable JavaScript in your web browser.

Appendix - Deleting a Project from Project Center

This article explains the best practices and considerations for deleting a project in EPM Live.  Be sure to read all the steps in this article prior to deleting or cleaning up a deleted project to be sure all steps are considered.  

Regarding who has permissions to delete a project:

  • If the Build Team security feature is in use, those in the Project Owners group can delete the project.  Typically, this is the project manager, and any other project leads given Project Owner permissions.  
  • If Build Team is not in use, meaning, the standard SharePoint list and item permissions are in use, any user or user group with contribute permissions on the Project Center list, and the project item (if the item inherits permissions from the list) can delete the project.  

Note: Although a project manager or other user may delete a project, the configuration for how projects delete and the other follow up clean up items must be done by the administrator and or SCA.  

1. Verify the WorkEngine Project Center Event Site Feature

When activated, this feature enables the functionality to send any items associated with the project to be sent to the recycle bin once the associated project has been deleted.  So, when a project is deleted, all that projects associated tasks, risks, issues, documents, changes, etc. will also be deleted.  Any list item that has a lookup to the selected project that's deleted is also deleted.

1.1. Navigate to SharePoint Site Settings

  1. Select the Settings Gear icon on the Icon Bar.
  2. Under the Settings heading, select SharePoint Site Settings.

1.2. Open Site Features

Under the Site Actions heading, select Manage Site Features.

1.3. Verify WorkEngine Project Center Event is Active

When the feature is Active, a blue Active status button will show.

2. Delete Project

When a project is deleted, it will go to the primary Recycle Bin.  Note: If you were to look for that deleted item, each item shows with it's list ID, not the item name/title.  Therefore, you may need to reference the ID, deleted time stamp, and deleted by name should you need to restore or permanently remove the project from the Recycle Bin.

  1. Note the ID of the project.
  2. Click the Project contextual elipsis (...) menu.
  3. Click Delete Item.
  4. Confirm deletion / to send project item to the Recycle Bin.  Click OK.

2.1. Deleted Project in the Recycle Bin

The project will show in the Recycle Bin.  Note the date/time stamp that the project was deleted.  If needed, you may restore the project.  However, note that only the project itself will restore to the project center.  None of the children items will restore to their respective lists.  To access the associated items that were delete, the SCA must go to the Site Collection Recycle Bin to restore those items.

3. Project Associated Items Deleted

3.1. Navigate to SharePoint Site Settings

  1. Select the Settings Gear icon on the Icon Bar.
  2. Under the Settings heading, select SharePoint Site Settings.

4. Open Site Collection Recycle Bin

Under the Site Collection Administration heading, click Recycle Bin.

4.1. Deleted Associated Items in the Recycle Bin

All the delete associated items, such as the project tasks, issues, etc. will show here. If needed, select the items to restore.  In order to know which items to restore, look at the date/time stamp.  The items were deleted by System Account at the same time that the project was deleted.  

5. Deleting a Project from PortfolioEngine Database (DB Admin)

  1. Select the Settings Gear icon on the Icon Bar.
  2. Under the Utilities heading, select Portfolio DB Admin.

5.1. Open PIs Tab

Click the PIs tab.

PIs stands for Portfolio Items.  All projects from Project Center are also created on the PIs list.

5.2. Delete Closed Project

When the project is deleted from Project Center, the project details, which are stored in SharePoint, are deleted.  However, since all resource plan and cost plan data reside in the PortfolioEngine Database, the project must manually be deleted from the Portfolio DB Admin page as well.  When a project is deleted from Project Center, that project gets closed in the DB admin page.  The closed status changes from 0 to 1.  This is done to protect the historical resource plan and cost plan data, should it need to be re-opened (if the project was deleted by accident).  If the project was deleted on purpose, to complete the process, delete the project on the DB Admin page as well.  

  1. Select the project.
  2. Click Delete Item.

6. Deleting the Project Plan

When a project is deleted from Project Center, the project's associated tasks are deleted from Task Center.  However, the project plan file still exists in the Project Schedules library.

6.1. Navigate to Site Contents

  1. Select the Settings Gear icon on the Icon Bar.
  2. Under the Settings heading, select Site Contents.

6.2. Open Project Schedules Library

Click the Project Schedules tile.

6.3. Open Project Planner or MS Project folder

Select the folder for the applicable planner type that was used on the deleted project.

6.4. Delete the Project Plan

In the Project Planner folder, the name of the project plan file is the project's ID from the list.

In the Microsoft (MS) Project folder, the name of the project plan file is the name of the project.  

  1. Select the contextual ellipses (...) menus for the project plan to delete.
  2. Click Delete.
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.