How do I require document check out?

This article explains the how to turn on the feature that requires users to check out a document before they can edit it.  When a document is checked out, others who open it will see it as Read-Only until it is checked in again.

1. Navigate to the Library Settings

Navigate to the Library App.  

  1. Select the Library Ribbon Tab.
  2. Select Library Settings.

2. Open Versioning Settings

Under the General Settings heading, click Versioning Settings.

3. Select Yes for Require Check Out

Specify whether users must check out documents before making changes in this document library.

4. Click OK to Close

When finished, click OK.

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.