How do I remove a user?

This article explains the options for disabling a user, removing a user's permissions, and deleting a user.  This article also explains the different scenarios when you would choose one over another.  Just as a user's access is granted via the Resource Pool, so is removing access.  Navigate to the Resource Pool.

You want to be very careful not to delete a named user from your EPM Live Resource Pool.  This is especially true if the user has any work assignments or has been added to any Resource Plans.  Instead, you would remove the user's permissions and remove their access to an EPM Live license. EPM Live recommends you remove the license type access in addition to disassociating the user to any permission groups.

Generally, you should NOT delete users from the Resource Pool.  This may have repercussions if you've already been tracking details about the resource.  These include resource plans, task assignments, etc.  Rather, you should disable the user.

If needed, configure the views in the Resource Pool to filter out the resources who are disabled if you only want to see Active resources.

1. Edit a Named User Resource

  1. From within the Resource Pool, select the contextual drop down menu for the desired resource.
  2. On the contextual drop down menu, select Edit Item.

Rather than delete, you can update the resource information.  If the email address needs to be updated, you can do one of the following:

  • Online customers (SaaS Shared or Dedicated): submit a ticket to the EPM Live Support team to assist.
  • On-Premise customers: update the user's email address in Active Directory.

2. Remove Permissions

Clear the checkboxes for all security permission groups to remove all site permissions.  This removes only the permissions at the Site level of the top level site app.

Note: If you have multiple sites, such as workspaces, you would need to remove the user permissions at all levels/sites.  Or, if applicable, set the user to disabled.

Since the Permission Groups are synced with the PortfolioEngine Permissions, if you removed someone from the Project Managers group in the Resource Pool, that user will be removed from the correlating Project Managers PortfolioEngine Permissions group.

3. Remover the License Type Access

Select the No Acccess option for License Type.  This removes the user's access to any and all EPM Live features, which also frees up a user license.

4. Disable a User

To indicate a resource is disabled, check the disabled box.  By doing so, all permissions are removed for this user from all sites.  Note: disabling the user does not free up a license.  You would need to also update their license type to do that.  

5. Access the Account Management Page (Online Customers)

For online customers, the person who is the owner of the account can manage the user accounts on the Account Settings page.  

  1. Select your Name Drop Down.
  2. Select EPM Live Account Settings.

5.1. Delete User from Account (Online Customers)

From the Manage Account page, you can "delete" users from your account.  Though, this does not delete the users from the site collection.  It only dissociates the user from that account.  This also changes the License Type to No Access, and frees up a license.   However, you must still remove that user's permissions by either disabling them in the resource pool.

  1. Select the User Accounts tab.
  2. Click the name of the user.
  3. Select Delete User.
  4. Confirm deletion (disaccosiation from your account) by clicking the OK button.

6. Delete a Named User Resource

The only time it would be recommended to delete a user from the Resource Pool is under the following condition: if it's a user you just added and you made a mistake.  You can delete the user.  However, for online customers, any new users that get created automatically have a user account created in the EPM Live AD (Active Directory).  So, when you re-create that user, you may be duplicating that user in the AD.

Rather than delete, you can update the resource information.  If the email address needs to be updated, you can do one of the following:

  • Online customers: contact EPM Live Support to assist.
  • On-Premise customers: update the user's email address in Active Directory.
  1. From within the Resource Pool, select the contextual drop down menu for the desired resource.
  2. On the contextual drop down menu, select Delete Item.

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.