In this article, you will learn how to set up a List App with the Build Team feature.
Note: The instructions in this article are applicable to Administrators in the Top Level Site as well as to Power Users who have Owner permissions on a workspace.
1. Navigate to the List Settings
Navigate to the List App.
- On the View Toolbar, select the Settings Gear.
2. Open General Settings (EPM Live)
Under the General Settings heading, select General Settings (EPM Live).
3. Enable Team
The Team feature allows for item level permissions to be granted within a List App. For example, if you are modifying the General Settings for the Project Center, a team of users can be added to a specific project. Then, with Team Security also enabled, only those who have been added to the Project Team will have permissions to access that project.
Enable Team: When enabled, this will allow users to build the team on items in this List App. Even if Team Security is disabled, the following two features use the item team membership. (1) The Online Planners will look to the item's "team" for who can be assigned to items in the plan (when the feature is enabled). (2) The Resource Planner has an option to view "Team Resources", which looks to the item's team (when the feature is enabled).
When the Enable Team feature is enabled, three groups are created based off the item name.
- Item Owner
- Item Member
- Item Visitor
4. Enable Team Security
Enable Team Security: When enabled, this will allow for unique permissions to be granted on the items in this List App. It is recommended to use Build Team in conjunction with the Team Security feature. If the Team Feature is enabled, but the Team Security feature is not enabled, anyone with permissions on this List App will have permissions on the items in the List App, whether or not they've been added to the item's team.
When Build Team and Build Team Security are both enabled, only those resources whom have been added to the item groups will have access to view and/or edit that item.
5. Additional Permissions
The Team feature allows for item level permissions to be granted within a List App. Often, additional permissions are also necessary. Rather than limiting the item security to only those resources added to the team, you may add other main security groups to automatically have access to each item in the list.
- Add Additional Permissions: Select the Group for whom you want to add permissions. Select the Permissions to grant that selected Group. Click the Add button. The newly added group will show in the Additional Permissions section above.
- Additional Permissions: When an item is saved and unique permissions are applied, these groups will be added to the item in addition to the standard Build Team groups. This setting applies to any new items created on this List App ONLY. Any changes to this section WILL NOT be applied to existing items in the list. In order to update existing items, you must contact the EPM Live Support team, who will run a utility on the EPM Live Server that will append the new groups to the existing list items.
In order to update existing items with any newly changed settings, an executable file must be run on the server that will append the new groups to the existing list items. The executable file for to run is called AddGroupAndPermissionToListItem.exe.
ONLINE customers (SaaS/Hosted): You must contact the EPM Live Support team, who will run the utility file on the EPM Live Server. To do so, submit a Support ticket in the https://support.versata.com site. Provide the following information in your ticket: Site URL, List Name, Group Name, Permission Level.
ON-PREMISE customers: You must contact the EPM Live Support team, who will provide the executable file to you for you to run. Submit a Support ticket in the https://support.versata.com site. They will provide the utility file along with instructions for how to run the utility file on the EPM Live Server.
Note: It is highly recommended that at a minimum, the Administrators group is given Full Control to all items in this List App via the Additional Permissions setting.
6. Save and Close General Settings
When finished, click Save.