How do I modify the Permission Levels?

This article will show you how to manage Permissions and Permission Levels, whether adding a new Permission Level, modifying an existing Permission Level, or deleting a Permission Level.

1. Notes about Permission Levels

A permission level enables the assignment of a particular set of permissions to users and groups so that they can perform specific actions on the EPM Live site. By creating new permission levels (or editing existing permission levels) an appropriate permission level is associated with the groups (or individual users) for the securable object on which they should be allowed to perform specified actions.

Note: It is a recommended best practice to associate permissions with groups instead of users.

The following permission levels are used by default in the EPM Live Site App: Full Control, Design, Contribute 2, Contribute, Read, and Limited Access. Anyone assigned to a permission level that includes the Manage Permissions permission can fully customize permission levels (except the Full Control and Limited Access permission levels) or create new ones. Members of the site’s Owners group are assigned the Manage Permissions permission by default.

Permission levels can be managed on sites, List Apps, and item levels. Permission Levels can be inherited from one parent item to a child item. For example, a List App (the child) can inherit permissions from the site (the parent item). Permissions inheritance can be toggled between unique and inherited at any time.

Note: It is a recommended best practice to use Unique Permissions rather than Inherited Permissions if you are creating additional Site App instances, such as sub-sites. Managing permissions of a parent site affects not only the parent site, but all sub sites which inherit permissions from that parent site. Before managing permissions of a parent site, carefully consider how the changes will affect other sites, if applicable.

Note: EPM Live does NOT support personal views of personal web parts. 

2. Navigate to SharePoint Site Settings

  1. Select the Settings Gear icon on the Icon Bar.
  2. Under the Settings heading, select SharePoint Site Settings.

3. Open Site Permissions

Under the Users and Permissions heading, select Site Permissions.

4. Click Permission Levels

Select Permission Levels from the Permissions Ribbon.

5. Select the Permission Level to Modify

Click the name of the Permission Level to modify it.

6. Modify Name, Description, and Permissions

  1. Name: Enter or modify the Permission Level Name.
  2. Description: Enter or modify the optional Permission Level Description.
  3. Select All: If this Permission is to have all permissions, check the Select All box. An example use of this would be an Administrator.
  4. Permissions: Select or deselect the check boxes for various permissions, as desired, for this Permission Level. The Permissions are grouped into the following: List Permissions, Site Permissions, and Personal Permissions.

Note: EPM Live does NOT support personal views of personal web parts.  It is recommended to deselect the following checkboxes from each permission level:

  • Manage Personal Views - Create, change, and delete personal views of lists. 
  • Add/Remove Personal Web Parts - Add or remove personal Web Parts on a Web Part Page. 
  • Update Personal Web Parts - Update Web Parts to display personalized information

7. Submit and Close Permissions Level

When finished, click the Submit button.

8. Add a New Permission Level

Click the button for Add a Permission Level.

9. Copy Permission Level

If desired, you may copy an existing Permission Level into a new Permission Level rather than creating a new Permission Level from scratch. To copy the Permission Level, open an existing Permission Level to modify it. Click the Copy Permission Level button.

10. Update Newly Created Permission Level

  1. Name: Enter Permission Level Name
  2. Description: Enter Permission Level Description.
  3. The Permission Levels selection will copy from the copied Permission Level to the new Permission Level. Update the permissions by checking and unchecking the boxes, as needed.

11. Save and Close New Permission Level

When finished, click Create.

12. Delete a Permission Level

  1. Select one or more Permission Levels to delete.
  2. Click the Delete Selected Permission Levels button.
  3. Click the OK button to confirm deletion.

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.